Support site - BrightspaceInstructors - English Manage the users in your courseCan I view submissions, contributions and grades of unenrolled and inactive students in Brightspace?

Can I view submissions, contributions and grades of unenrolled and inactive students in Brightspace?

This article will explain you what happens to students and their submissions, contributions and grades when they unenroll from your course or become inactive in Brightspace.

This article will contain the following structure:

  • What happens if a student is unenrolled from the course?
  • What happens if a student is set to inactive?
  • Where can I find submissions, contributions and grades of unenrolled and/or inactive students?

Please make sure to check out the FAQ at the bottom of the page.

A student is unenrolled from my course.

When students unenroll themselves or are being unenrolled by your education office in uSis, they are automatically unenrolled for your course in Brightspace as well. You will no longer see all their submissions, contributions and grades in the same place as your enrolled students. As soon as a student is re-enrolled, you will be able to see all their data as if they never left.

How can I see if a student is unenrolled from my course?

Go to Course Tools > Classlist and click on Enrolment Statistics

Scroll down and under Withdrawals you will see all students that are unenrolled from your course.

A student is set to inactive

When students graduate and/or deregister as a student from Leiden University, they will be automatically set to inactive after the grace period of 60 days has passed. Not only will this student no longer be able to log in to Brightspace, but as an instructor you will no longer see all their submissions, contributions and grades in your course. As soon as a student is set to active, you will be able to see all their data as if they never left.

How can I see when a student is inactive?

Go to Course Tools > Classlist. Whenever you see an icon as highlighted above, it means a student is inactive, thus not a student at Leiden University anymore.

Where can I find submissions, contributions and grades of unenrolled and/or inactive students?

Please see below an overview if and where you can find submissions, contributions and grades of unenrolled and/or inactive students.

Please note that although you are not able to see the data you need, nothing is deleted. As soon as a student is re-enrolled/activated, you will be able to see all their data as if they never left. Moreover, the Brightspace Central Support Team can always retrieve the data you need. See the FAQ for more information.

Tool Enrolled students that are active Enrolled students that are inactive Unenrolled students that are active/inactive
Assignment submission
Individual submissions, your inline feedback and assigned grade are visible in the submission overview of the assignment.
Individual submissions and inline feedback are no longer visible in Brightspace, nor can you access the data yourself.
Individual submissions and inline feedback are no longer visible in Brightspace, nor can you access inline feedback yourself.

However, general feedback and the grade can be accessed via Enrollment Statistics in the Classlist
Turnitin assignment submission Individual submissions,  your inline feedback and assigned grade are visible in the submission overview of the assignment.
Individual submissions and inline feedback are no longer visible in Brightspace.

However, you can retrieve the submission, your inline feedback and the Turnitin score from Turnitin.com, until 2 years after evaluation.

Please see here how.
Individual submissions and inline feedback are no longer visible in Brightspace.

However, you can retrieve the submission, your inline feedback and the Turnitin score from Turnitin.com, until 2 years after evaluation.

Please see here how.
Classlist Students appear on the classlist. Students appear on the classlist with an inactive indicator.
Students are no longer visible on the classlist, but appear in the Withdrawal list under Enrollment Statistics. 
Discussions
Contributions of the students are visible in discussion boards  Contributions of the students remain visible in discussion boards
Contributions of the students remain visible in discussion boards
Gradebook under Grades
Students and their grades appear in the Grades overview. Grades of inactive students are no longer visible in Brightspace, nor can you access the data yourself.
Students are not visible in the Grades overview, but their grades can be accessed via Enrollment Statistics in the Classlist
Group membership Students appear in the Groups overview. Students no longer appear in the Groups overview.
Students no longer appear in the Groups overview.
Quiz attempts and submissions Individual attempts and submissions are visible in the submission overview of the quiz. Individual attempts and submissions remain visible in the submission overview of the quiz.
Individual attempts and submissions are no longer visible in the submission overview of the quiz, nor can you access the data yourself.

FAQ

Why are the submissions, contributions and grades of unenrolled and inactive students disappearing?

Please note that data is never deleted. However, as soon as a student becomes inactive or is unenrolled some of the data is not directly accessible by you as an instructor. Unfortunately this is how Brightspace currently handles inactive/unenrolled students: These students and their data are automatically removed from your view.

We are working hard with the supplier of Brightspace to enable you to access this data yourself as long as you still have access to the course.

How can I regain access to disappeared student data in an active course?

At this moment you can only gain access by making a request via Helpdesk Portal. The central Brightspace Support team is able to retrieve the data you need, or grant you (and/or your colleagues) temporary access.

How long do I have access to a course?

As an instructor you will have access to active courses. As soon as an course is set to inactive, you will loose access by default, due to storage and disposal periods regulations. See here for more information on the course life cycle for instructors.

Please note that at this time no courses will be set to inactive by default. In the future courses will be set to inactive for archiving purposes, however the process is still being developed.