Release Grades to your student

You can choose to make a grade column invisible to students, either because you do not want them to see it at all, or because you want to release it at a later moment. You might be unable to grade all students in one go, for example, or you might want to adjust the grades after grading. To prevent confusing your students, it is recommended to keep the grades hidden until you can release all of them at the same time.

Hide Grade Items from all students
  • Click on Grades in the navbar of your course.
  • Click on Manage Grades.
  • Click on the arrow next to the Grade Item en select Hide from Users.
    • This hides the Grade Item and associated grades from all students. While a Grade Item is hidden, grades can be freely edited without students seeing it. To make it visible again, click on the arrow again and click Make Visible to Users.

Automatically release Grade Items

  • Click on Grades in the navbar of your course.
  • Click on Manage Grades.
  • Click on the arrow next to the Grade Item you want to automatically release and select Edit.
  • Go to the Restrictions tab.
  1. Selecting Hide from Users hides the Grade Item from all students.
  2. Use the Availability section if the Grade Itemshould only be available for a certain period of time. It will be invisible before the start date and after the end date.
    • Select Display in Calendar if you want these dates to appear in the student's Calendars.
  3. Select Attach Existing if you want to add an already made Release Condition to the grade, or Create and Attach if you want to make a new one. For more information on Release Conditions, see these articles.
  4. Select Save and Close.
Video: Release Final Grades

See this video on how to release final grades