Instructor Support for Educational Systems

How do I change my Live Room settings?

Updated Oct 20, 2021

This article discusses all settings regarding the Live Room. To access the settings menu, click the gear icon in the Live Room. A window appears with all the different setting tabs. The different setting tabs are shown below.

Click on a link to go directly to the relevant topic:

Initial device settings

When you enter the Live Room for the first time, your browser asks for permission to use your camera and microphone. A pop-up window will appear that will look like this:

In this window you can select which devices you want to grant permission to.

After you have granted permission to your devices, the Choose Your Devices screen will appear. On this screen you can check your camera and microphone for image and sound.

It is possible to:

  • Camera feed check.
  • Audio level.
  • Select devices for image and sound.
  • Webcam and camera by clicking on the appropriate icon.

Device Settings

In the Device Settings tab, you can select a webcam and microphone.

The green bars show the input level of the audio. If your audio input level is too low, you can adjust this via the input devices menu in Windows or Mac.

Lastly, it is possible to submit logs via Contact Support.

Contact Support

At the bottom of the Device Settings tab is the Contact Support button. If you're having trouble during your session, you can click this button to send your session's details to Kaltura. It is then possible to check what the problem is.

Before you end the Live Room session, click this button to access the window as shown below:

When submitting support logs, it is important to select which components are the problem:

  • Webcam Quality
  • Microphone Quality
  • Content Playback

The problem must be specified in the text box. Always leave the Send Logs check box checked .

After the support logs have been submitted, send an email to the ISSC Helpdesk with the same information and the time the logs were submitted together with the link to the Live Room.

Access & Security

In the Access & Security tab, you'll see the following options to access a Live Room and create a waiting area for new incoming attendees:

Room Lock

Room Lock - close the Live Room for:

  • Anyone except registered users - guests are redirected to the waiting room.
  • Everyone except instructors and admins - students and guests are referred to the waiting room.

Automatically lock the room when session starts

With the Automatically lock the room when session starts option, the Live Room automatically locks when the session starts.

If you do not choose to lock the Live Room automatically, you can use the Lock the door function. You can do this by clicking on the lock icon in the top (black) menu bar in the Live Room.

If the icon looks like below, the Live Room is open to everyone, clicking the icon will lock the Live Room.

If the icon looks like below, then the Live Room is locked, by clicking on the icon the door is unlocked.

Password

A password can be set on the Live Room, requiring guest attendees to enter a password to access the Live Room.

  • Select the Password Required check box.
  • Enter your password.
  • Click Save.

The password is only required if you enter the Live Room via the direct invitation link. A user with a ULCN account using the Join Live Room button can enter the Live Room without a password.

Room Mode

In the 'Room Mode' tab, the live room type can be selected.

There are two options possible as a Live Room configuration:

  1. Standard Room
  2. Large Room

Standard Room

In a Standard Room, participants with image are added to the Live Room, which will automatically be visible at the bottom of the screen (max. 25 participants visible). This option is suitable for interactive sessions.

Large Room

In a Large Room you can manage which participants are visible at the bottom of the screen. Participants will therefore not be automatically visible . This option is suitable for sessions where only the speaker needs to be in the picture and/or is speaking.

Mute

In addition, there are two other options to mute participants' webcam and microphone:

  • Standard Mute: This option allows the participant to unblock their own device.
  • Strong Mute: This option prevents the participant from unblocking their own device.

Default Permissions

In the Default Permissions tab, you can set the rights that participants are given with regard to the use of the functionalities in the Live Room.

There are a number of rights for participants when using tools:

  • Draw on the Whiteboard and make annotations on files: Draw on the Whiteboard and annotate files.
  • Play Shared Files that are made available in the playlist: Play shared files that are made available in the playlist.
  • Share their screen: Share their screen.
  • Write Notes: Writing Notes.

The Participants List option can indicate whether participants can see this list, if this option is checked out, the Participants list becomes invisible to participants.

Moderators will still see this list.

Quick Poll Settings

Inthe Quick Poll Settings tab, you can manage the settingand for the Quick Poll functionality in the Live Room.

You can set whether the poll respondents remain anonymous and what the target audience of the poll is:

  • By selecting Anonymous Mode, participants' choices do not appear in the participant list and session statistics.

Target Audience

  • By selecting Non-moderators only, only participants who are not moderators can complete the Quick Poll.
  • By selecting All Participants But The Triggering Host, anyone can complete the Quick Poll except you (triggering host).

Chat Settings

 In the Chat Settings tab, permissions can be set for participants related to the Chat function:

You can give participants permission for the following parts:

  • Group Chat: Groupchat.
  • Ask Questions: Ask questions (questions in the V&A that are only visible to moderators).
  • Start 1:1 Chats: Start 1-on-1 chats.

Under Moderation, the Clear Chat option allows you to set the chat to be automatically deleted after the end of a session.

Browser Focus

In the Browser Focus tab, you can set the moderator to be notified when a student has another tab or window open during the Live Room session.

This feature is disabled by default.

There are two options that can be set:

  • The Show alerts on webcams option displays an icon if someone is not actively watching the Live Room.
  • The Show alerts in participants list option gives a similar icon, but after the user's name.

Language

In the black navigation bar of the Live Room you can set a language via the three dots button. If you click this button, a pull-down item will appear where you can select the language for the live room user interface.

 If your preferred language is not yet available, you can contact the  ISSC  helpdesk to request a new language.

Previous Article How do I use the Live Room buttons?
Next Article Live Room Troubleshooting