Instructor Support for Educational Systems

How do I change my In Meeting settings in advance? (Basic)

Updated Aug 12, 2021

This article covers the In-Meeting settings, which can be found under Settings in the  Zoom  portal of Leiden University.

The settings can be reached and changed in the following way:

Require encryption for 3rd party endpoints (SIP/H.323)

All data used by Zoom is encrypted, which also enables encryption for third parties.

This option is Locked by admin and not customizable to ensure the security of the meeting and used data.

Chat

In the chat function, participants can send messages. If this option is enabled, these messages will be visible to all participants.

This option is enabled by default.

If you disable the chat feature, the options Private Chat and Auto saving chats will not be available. You will also receive the following notification:

    • Select the Prevent participants from saving chat box to prevent attendees from saving the chats.

Private chat

If this option is enabled, participants can start a private conversation 1 to 1. This option is disabled by default.


Auto saving chats 

If this option is enabled, all chats that occur during the meeting will be saved automatically. As a result, the host does not have to manually save the messages after the meeting starts.

Auto saving chats is by default disabled, consider the GDPR guidelines when using this function.

Sound notification when someone joins or leaves

Enable this feature if you want to play sound when someone enters or leaves the meeting. You can play a sound for:

  • Everyone.
  • Hosts and co-hosts only.
  • If someone enters the meeting by phone.
    • Check Ask to record their voice to use as the notification to let someone say something when entering the meeting.
  • This option is automatically disabled.

File transfer

This option allows hosts and attendees to exchange files in the meeting chat.

You can choose to make only specific files shareable:

  • Select the only allow specified file types box.
  • Click the pencil icon to add or remove a file format.
  • You can also set the maximum file size, by default it is set to 2048 MB (2GB).

Feedback to Zoom

This option adds a feedback tab to the Windows or Mac dialog box.

At the end of the meeting, the participant will have the opportunity to provide feedback to Zoom.

This option is enabled by default.

Display end-of-meeting experience feedback survey

This option displays a survey at the end of each meeting in the form of a thumbs up/down, and the participant can also insert additional information about what went wrong.

There are two options:

  • Display for every meeting: You can view this survey at the end of each meeting.
  • Display for meetings randomly: You can view this survey at the end of random meetings.

Co-host

A host can add a co-host to the meeting if this option is enabled. A co-host has the same rights in a meeting as a host.

Adding a co-host can be useful if a moderator is needed for e.g. management of the waiting area or chat.

This option is enabled by default.

Meeting Polls

A host can start 'Polls' in the meeting if this option is enabled. These 'polls' can be added before or during the meeting.

This option is enabled by default.

Meeting control toolbar

Always show meeting control toolbar

The 'meeting controls' will always be visible in a meeting if this option is enabled.

If this option is disabled, it will temporarily disappear and the mouse must be moved to the place of the 'meeting controls' to make it visible again.

This option is enabled by default.


 Show Zoom windows during screen share

If you share your screen in a meeting, you can choose to show the Zoom window or not with this option.

This option is disabled by default.

Screen sharing

During a meeting, a host or attendee can share their display if this option is enabled.

You can also set who can share the display if something is already shared at that moment:

  • Host only: Select this option if only the host may start something else.
  • All participants: Select this option if all participants are allowed to start something else.


 Disable desktop screen sharing for meetings you host

Attendees can't share their display when this option is enabled. Participants can only share certain files with each other via chat.

This option is disabled by default so that users can share their displays in a meeting.

Enable this option if you don't want users to be able to share their displays.


Annotation

While sharing a display, annotation tools can be used to add annotations or additional information to the displayed image.

If you enable this option, both host and participant can create annotations.

  • Select Allow saving or shared screens with annotations to save the displayed displays with annotations
    • Observe the privacy guidelines when storing annotations.
  • If you want only the user who shares their screen to be unable to create annotations and exclude other participants from them, select the box for Only the user who is sharing can annotate.

Whiteboard

During a meeting, the host and participant can share a whiteboard with each other when this option is enabled.

If you want the content to be stored on the whiteboard, check the Allow saving or whiteboard content box.

 Observe the privacy guidelines when storing the whiteboard content.

 You can also choose to have the whiteboard content automatically saved as .PNG or .PDF if sharing stops. Click the appropriate file format box for the saved whiteboard.

Remote control

While sharing your display, you can choose to give other participants control over the shared screen.

This option is disabled by default, to keep control of your own shared screen.

Feedback

Non-verbal feedback 

 Nonverbal feedback allows attendees to communicate with the host without interrupting the speaker.

The participant can click on icons such as yes, no, slow down or speed up. These icons can be found in the Reactions menu in the toolbar.

If a participant selects an icon, the host will see it on the participant's image and in the participant list.


 Meeting reactions 

Participants can also choose to communicate through emojis. These can be found in the Reactions menu in the toolbar.

If a participant selects an emoji, the host will see it on the participant's image and in the participant list.

You can set all emojis to be used or only a certain selection, click on the appropriate option.

Participants allowances

Allow removed participants to rejoin

You can allow attendees who have been removed or removed from the meeting to rejoin the meeting.

Turn this option off if you don't want these participants to be able to join the meeting again.


Allow participants to rename themselves

Meeting participants cannot change their names.

This option is 'Locked by admin' and not customizable, so as not to pretend to be someone else and then everyone with the correct name convention of Leiden University is displayed.


Hide participant profile pictures in meeting

If this option is enabled, the participants' profile pictures will be hidden and only the names of the participants will be displayed on the screen.

In addition, participants cannot update their profile pictures during a meeting. This option is enabled by default.

Previous Article How do I determine in advance what is heard and visible in my meeting?
Next Article How do I change my In Meeting settings in advance? (Advanced)