Instructor Support for Educational Systems

How do I change the Security settings of my meeting in advance?

Updated Aug 12, 2021

This manual covers the Security settings, which can be found under Settings in the  Zoom  portal of Leiden University.

The settings can be reached and changed in the following way:

Under Security you can set how you want to secure your meeting. This determines, among others things, which participants and how participants enter the meeting. The following parts are covered:

Require that all meetings are secured with one security option

All meetings are secured with at least one of the three security options, the possible options are:

  • A Passcode.
  • A Waiting Room.
  • Only authenticated users can join meetings.

This setting is automatically accompanied by a Passcode requirement. If you scroll down, you will see that the Require a passcode when scheduling new meetings and Personal Meeting ID setting are also on by default and cannot be changed.

Waiting Room

Waiting Room

If this option is enabled, attendees entering a meeting are placed in a waiting area. The host must admit these participants individually.

If this option is enabled, participants cannot enter the meeting before the host.

Enabling a Waiting Room promotes the safety of your meeting and prevents unwanted people from entering the meeting.

Waiting Room Options

There are a number of options regarding entering the Waiting Room, because you can select who ends up in the waiting area and who does not. These options apply to all meetings where the Waiting Room option is on.

  • Click Edit Options.

Under Who should go in the waiting room? the following options are available:

  • Everyone: Everyone will enter the waiting area.
  • Users not in your account: Users who have not been added to the account.
  • If this option is checked, you can select who can allow participants in the waiting area to join the meeting.
    • Host and co-hosts only: Only the host and co-host can admit participants.
    • Host, co-host, and everyone who bypassed the waiting room (only if host and co-hosts are not present): Both hosts and participants who are in the meeting can admit participants from the waiting area.
  • Users who are not in your account and not part of the allowed domains: Users without ULCN will end up in the waiting area.
  • If this option is checked, a text box will appear where you can enter domains to leave them until the meeting.
  • Also with this option, you can select who can allow participants in the waiting room to join the meeting.
  • To admit attendees invited to the meeting, select: Users invited during the meeting by the host or co-host will bypass the waiting room.
  • Finally, you can choose to move attendees to the waiting area if the host unexpectedly leaves the meeting or if the host and co-host are not present. Select Move participants to the waiting room if the host dropped unexpectedly.

After the waiting room options are set, you have the option to visually adjust the waiting room:

  • Click Customize Waiting Room.

In the new screen, you'll see what the waiting room screen will look like for attendees. You can change the text Please wait, the meeting host will let you in soon by clicking on the pencil icon.

In the Box Logo + you can optionally insert a logo, once you have added a logo you can change it by clicking on the pencil icon.

 Lastly, you can add a description of the waiting area, click Add waiting room description.

Passcode

Require a passcode when scheduling new meetings

When a meeting is scheduled, a password will be generated automatically. Participants need this password to enter the meeting. The description states that Personal Meeting IDs (PMI) are not included in these meetings. However, if you scroll down you will see that a password is also required for PMI.

Require a passcode for instant meetings

If a direct meeting is started (not scheduled), no automatic password will be generated.

 Require a passcode for Personal Meeting ID (PMI)

A password will be generated for all PMI meetings.

Require a passcode for participants joining by phone

If a participant enters the meeting with a mobile phone, they will need to enter a numeric password to access it.

In addition to an alphanumeric password, a numeric password will also be generated.

Embed passcode in invite link for one-click join

If this option is on, the meeting password will be processed in the invitation link that is generated.

The use of this link will give a participant direct access to the meeting, without having to enter a password.

Disabling this feature means that participants have to enter a password to access it, and it increases the likelihood of unwanted participants being locked out.

 

Only authenticated users can join meetings

Only participants with a ULCN account can enter the meeting, if they are logged in with another account, they will be asked to switch accounts.

Meeting Authentication

Meeting Authentication Options

There are a number of authentication options, the default is 'Sign in to Zoom'.

The Allow authentication exception option is checked by default. This means that the host can invite attendees who do not need to authenticate

  • If the waiting area is enabled, mobile users will be placed in the waiting area.
  • If the waiting area is not enabled, you can choose from two options:
    • Mobile users can enter the meeting (on by default).
    • Mobile users are not allowed to enter the meeting. To prevent this, it is advisable to always enable a waiting area.

Only authenticated users can join meetings from Web client

If this option is enabled, participants who want to attend a meeting via the 'Web client' (browser and not via the application) will first have to log in.

Approve or block entry for users from specific countries/regions

 This option allows you to allow participants from specific regions or countries or block access to your meetings or Webinars from your account.

If you enable this option, a new screen opens where you can admit or exclude participants.

  • Select the Only allow users from selected countries/regions option, and then type in the country/region if you only want to allow users from a region to join your meeting.
  • Select the Block users from selected countries/regions option, and then type in the country/region to exclude users from a specific region from your meeting.

Allow use of end-to-end encryption

With this option you can choose between Enhanced encryption (encryption keys are stored in the cloud) and End-to-end encryption (encryption keys are stored on your local device).

Although End-to-end is more secure encryption, it limits Zoom's usage capabilities.

When using end-to-end encryptions, participants are forced to join a meeting through the desktop client or the mobile app. Web client is not supported.

  • It will disable the following functions:
    • Join before host
    • Cloud recording
    • Live streaming
    • Live transcription
    • Breakout Rooms
    • Polling
    • Meeting reactions
    • 1:1 private chats
Previous Article How do I change my account and profile settings?
Next Article How do I determine in advance what is heard and visible in my meeting?