Instructor Support for Educational Systems

How do I create a Live Room on the Videoportal?

Updated Oct 11, 2021

This article explains how to create a channel on  https://video.leidenuniv.nl and how to enable it for Live Room use.

How do I create a channel?

  • Go to  https://video.leidenuniv.nl and sign in with your ULCN account.
  • Click on your name to open the menu options available for your account.
  • Select My Channels.
  • In the new screen, click Create Channel.

 To create a channel, fill in the following fields:

  • A title.
  • A brief description.

How do I adjust my channel visibility?

There are three global channel visibility settings:

  1. Private: This means that only users invited to the channel can enter the channel and see its contents.
  2. Restricted: This ensures that anyone with a ULCN account can enter your channel and see the content.
  3. Public: Contact your video coordinator to open your channel publicly.

How do I active my Live Room?

  • Click Channel Actions in your channel, this will look like this:
  • Under Options, select Enable Newrow Live Room to activate the Live Room.
  • Click Save.
  • After saving your channel, you can go to the Edit page where you can add users to your channel.

How do I add users?

  • On the Edit page, select the Users tab.
  • Click Add Users.
  • In the pop-up, you can look up users.
  • The easiest method is to enter the ULCN username. Once you have entered a name, available options will appear below. Select the user you want to add to your channel.

You can assign a permission level per user:

 Member: 

Can only view the content of the channel. A member can only participate in the Live Room.

 Contributor: 

Can view content from the channel and can also add content. A contributor can only participate in the Live Room.

 Moderator: 

Can view and edit channel content. A moderator also becomes a moderator of the Live Room and can start the Live Room session.

 Manager: 

Can view and edit all of the channel's content. It can also remove users from the channel. A manager also becomes a moderator of the Live Room and can start the Live Room session.

  • Click Add to add the user.

How do I change the permissions level of a user?

You can also change the permission level of already added users.

  • Click the pencil icon in the Actions column of the user whose permissions you want to customize.
  • Select a new permission level in the Permissions column.
  • Click on the floppy icon to save your choice.
Previous Article What are the system requirements for KLR?
Next Article How do I host a Live Room?