Support site - BrightspaceInstructors - English GradesHow do I synchronize grades between Turnitin Grademark and Brightspace Gradebook?

How do I synchronize grades between Turnitin Grademark and Brightspace Gradebook?

Specific settings are required to import assignment numbers from Turnitin (TII) Grademark to the Brightspace Gradebook. Follow these steps if you want to give a grade (or feedback) in TII and then transfer it to the students' Gradebook. Please note: the link between TII and Brightspace Gradebook is still not optimal.

The use of the numerical functionality in TII is optional. It is also possible to use TII only for the Originality Check. This is explained in the article about Turnitin assignments.

This option can be used to release both feedback and grades to students on a specific day. This has to be done manually on the day of issue.

Gradebook settings

Create a Gradebook based on the final grade of the course. In order for the synchronization to work properly, we strongly recommend setting up a Leiden Scheme Partial Grade for partial grades (Grade items) and a Leiden Scheme Final Grade for the final grade (Final Grade).

See the settings below, for more explanation see: What are Leiden Schemes?

Turnitin assignment settings

To ensure that synchronization runs smoothly, the following settings must be selected in the Assignment properties:

Step 1: Under "Edit Assignment" and then Properties, set the "Score out of" to 100.

In the Turnitin Feedback Studio no decimals can be placed, but for example a 77/100 is then converted to a 7.7 in the later synchronization

Step 2: Under the third tab in the Assignment,  Turnitin®, set the above settings.

When students have submitted assignments, the files can be found under 'Submissions' in Assignments.

  1. The assignments can be graded via TII via Submissions.
  2. In the table, under Turnitin®Grademark®, select the pen icon (Edit or view Turnitin Grademark information). A new tab will appear in which an assessment of the assignment can be done. Note: a rating of 66/100 points will be displayed as a 6.6.

Publish Feedback with Automatically Sync Grades

As explained above, we encourage you to set the Grades Transfer to Automatically sync Grades as Draft. The explanation below here explains how to directly send grades to the Brightspace Gradebook with the setting Automatically sync.

In the Users tab in Assignments, you will see that the rating is still saved as a draft. Feedback that is stored as a draft can never be seen by students.

If you would like to share your feedback:

  1. check the appropriate boxes in the left furthest column of the table.
  2. publish the feedback by clicking on Publish Feedback above the table.

Please note: if you click on ''Publish Feedback'' and a date restriction was specified in the Gradebook for releasing the grade, it will still be possible for students to view it via the Assignment tool. The grade is not visible under Grades, but it is under the Assignment. This can create confusion, so be careful!

Publish Feedback with Manually Sync Grades

When the setting is on Manually Sync Grades, a different course of action is necessary in order to transfer the grades between Turnitin and the Brightspace Gradebook. 

Click on the pen next to the submission to mark the assignment. Enter a grade in the Feedbackstudio. After grading the assignment, return to the Submissions-page and click on the Refresh-symbol. 

By completing this action, the grade becomes visible under Turnitin® GradeMark® . Proceed to click on Evaluate. 

Next, click on Use This Score to make clear that the Turnitin-grade can be used as a Brightspace grade. You can then choose to directly Publish or Save as Draft. If you want the grades of all students to be published simultaneously, then each separate grade must be saved as draft.

Check the Submissions and then click on Publish Feedback. Then, the grades will be transferred to the Brightspace gradebook.

Please note: if you click on ''Publish Feedback'' and a date restriction was specified in the Gradebook for releasing the grade, it will still be possible for students to view it via the Assignment tool. The grade is not visible under Grades, but it is under the Assignment. This can create confusion, so be careful!