January 2020 - 17/01/2020
The new Brightspace release is available from 17 January 2020 10:00
1. Class Progress will be turned off on 31 January 2020
The Class Progress Functionality will be turned off from 31 January 2020 09:00. Further research is needed to implement this functionality properly.
1. Classlist – Total number of users field
To improve ease of use, the total number of users for their selection (whole class or group) now appears in a field at the bottom of the Classlist page for at-a-glance viewing to help instructors keep track of the total number of students, which may extend beyond the users visible on the page.
2. Discussions – Assessment consistency changes
When assessing discussions, instructors have new multi-select options to Publish Feedback and Retract Feedback. In the Status column, the Draft / Published checkbox has been replaced by information on the date when feedback was saved as draft or published. These changes are visible on both the Users and Assessments tabs. The Save, Save and Close, and Cancel buttons have also been removed as their functionality has been replaced by the Publish Feedback and Retract Feedback options.
3. Grades – Export sorting options
This feature introduces the ability to sort exported gradebooks based on the following options: Username (e.g. student numbers), Last Name, and First name.
4. Groups – Self-enrollment group capacity, start dates and descriptions
This feature includes three improvements to Groups:
- Group members can now see the description of their group. For self-enrolled groups, group members will now see the group description at all times, including before and after enrollment. For other group types, instructors can now choose to display the description to members of the group. This visible group description setting is off by default for non-self-enrollment groups. Previously, all group descriptions were hidden from group members.
- An instructor can now increase or decrease the capacity for self-enrollment groups after they have been created, and prior to the group sign-up expiry date. Decreasing a group size to an amount smaller than has already signed up for a group will not re-allocate users to other groups. Previously, self-enrollment groups were not editable after they were created.
- Instructors can set Start dates for self-enrollment groups. This feature allows them to schedule self-enrollment groups availability, ensuring students are prepared and have equal opportunity to self-enroll.
5. Quizzes – Synchronization with Grades
Quiz scores and feedback entered in Grades now synchronize automatically with Quizzes.
To further streamline the workflow, the Overall Feedback fields in Grades and Quizzes are now consolidated. All comments entered in the Overall Feedback field in Grades synchronizes automatically with the Overall Feedback field in Quizzes. This update creates a more direct workflow and aligns Quizzes with the consistent feedback experience implemented in Assignments and Discussions.
Note: Synchronization only occurs for new grade entries. Existing grade data for quizzes will not be migrated due to the high impact to all past data and reports.
Overview of synchronization patterns:
Changes made to scores or feedback in Grades will propagate automatically to the Quizzes tool.
Changes made to scores or feedback in the Quizzes tool will:
- Propagate to Grades when selecting “Export to Grades” (note that score and feedback must be in a “Published” state in order for the export to occur).
- Propagate to Grades automatically if the quiz has the “Auto Export to Grades” setting enabled.
Q: Is it possible to overwrite feedback entered in the Quizzes tool by making updates within Grades?
A: If overall feedback has been entered in the Quizzes tool, but it has not been exported to Grades, then making changes to overall feedback in the Grades will overwrite the content in the Quizzes tool.
Q: Is it possible to overwrite scores entered in the Quizzes tool by making updates within Grades?
A: If scores have been entered in the Quizzes tool, but have not been exported to Grades, then making changes to attempt scores in Grades will overwrite the scores in the Quizzes tool.